A little more about my Taiwan adventure.

23Dec09

Hello again.  There is so much I haven’t told you about my time in Taiwan and I figured I might as well begin now.  Carrie (my cat) did something stupid (knocked down a glass candy dish) and now I’ve locked her in the bathroom for the obligatory punishment so I’ve got a little time while I forget about her incessant whining. (Oh, how I’ll miss her…)

I am leaving with my fellow travelers from Spokane on Tuesday December 29th at 7:45 in the evening.  We board the plane here and then fly to Seattle where we have a four-hour layover before boarding our flight to Taipei.  From Seattle to Taipei it’s a direct flight, but that’s the long one – 13 hours.  We will take off from Seattle at 12:55 am our time and arrive in Taipei at 6:05 their time.  Ouch.  Apparently the time transition is much worse coming back, but that remains to be seen.  I have trouble sleeping on planes, but am bringing my cozy blanket and a pillow so that I may have a chance.

Our itinerary says that we will cover 224 miles to Seattle plus 6,074 miles to Taipei.  I have been to Europe three times, but this feels much farther away.  I can’t wait.

I’m going to be teaching high school art at Taipei American School with a fantastic teacher who is also from Washington.  We haven’t had too much opportunity to get to know each other by email, but I look forward to meeting her in person.  We begin teaching bright and early on Monday January 4th, which happens to be my husband Matthew’s birthday.  It will be a thrilling day, but I just hope I have a chance to speak to Matthew at some point to let him know I’m thinking about him.

We’re staying at a Youth Center there, which is essentially a dorm situation.  I will be sharing a room with some of the other ladies traveling with me.  We will have a bathroom to share within our small group.  I plan on showering at night to relieve some of the bathroom hustle and bustle in the morning.

We’ve been told that Taipei is a very safe city and that we should be able to explore during the evenings and weekends.  I plan to lead the crowd to the Taipei History Museum and the Museum of Contemporary Art Taipei, among others.  I have a feeling that I will be making multiple visits to the MOCAT.  There’s also the National Palace Museum which is said to hold the largest collection of ancient Chinese art dating back 5,000 years.  Another thing I’m very interested in experiencing are the famous Taipei night markets where residents go to eat and shop after dark.  There are six major night markets within walking distance of the MRT (subway) station and they should be easy to visit on a regular basis if we choose.  The real trick will be figuring out where to go and understanding the signs that are in Mandarin Chinese characters.  Hopefully our hosts will be able to help us out when we venture out for dinner.  More to come.

xo, Lindsay

2 Responses to “A little more about my Taiwan adventure.”

  1. 1 Noni

    This is a test we are trying to see if you get this email. nikki and noni

  2. I GOT IT! Love you guys! Hope you are well. Planning on posting today so I hope you’ll be back. 🙂

    xo,
    Lindsay


Leave a Reply

