Happy Christmas

25Dec09

Today I woke up to a Christmas filled with the sweet ringing of my cats’ collar bells and the welcome beeping of the coffee maker. I unwrapped presents with my husband beside the glow of our lovely Christmas tree, sipped coffee and laughed with him. We spent the morning together and the rest of the day with my Mom and stepdad Rick who spoiled us with gifts and fantastic food. Once we got home and sat on the kitchen floor to give the cats their gifts (annual Fancy Feast dinners) I felt the tiniest twinge of sadness mixed with the teeniest nervous knot in my tummy. In four days I’ll walk away from all of this to get on a plane for an unknown land and the promise of adventure.

Now I may seem a tad overdramatic, but if that is the case you must not know me very well. Beyond my tendency to “think really hard about things,” I know that this is going to be one of the most important events of my life. The father of one of my third graders said, “You know, this is going to be one of the most memorable experiences of your life, don’t you? Good luck.” I agree completely.

No Responses Yet to “Happy Christmas”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

