Planning for the last week…

17Jan10

It’s Sunday, January 17th, the first day of our last week here.  I really cannot believe it.  This week is going to rip by so fast and before I know it I will be back on EVA Air bound for Spokane.  After integrating into living here and spending so much time with my friends from the MIT program it will be yet another transition to adjust to full time teaching at Moran Prairie.  I am thankful to have the better part of a week to recover when I return and acclimate to the time change once again before taking over at Moran Prairie.  I miss my little kiddos so much and am excited to bring back pen pal letters for them from the third graders I’ve met here at TAS.

On Friday I sat down with Jennifer, my mentor in the art department, to plan my activities for the last week.  I am making two presentations to the two IB (International Baccalaureate) Art classes, interviewing as many IB students as I can fit into the day, visiting various art and third grade class sessions, and squeezing in as much sight seeing as possible after school.  Throw in some homework on top of that in the evenings and waking up at 5:00 AM each day and you’ve got a pretty accurate picture of my crazy existence here in my last week.

On Thursday my mentor only teaches three classes in the morning so the Director of the Art Department said that we can skip out of school when we’re done and go to the Palace Museum.  I cannot wait to explore it because it is said to have the largest collection of Ancient Chinese art in all of China.  Wow.  I can’t wait to tell you all about it!

2 Responses to “Planning for the last week…”

  1. 1 Mom

    Enjoy every minute and plan a reunion in 10 years. Be forever changed by the experience in ways you never thought possible. Leave something of you behind – a lock of hair, a note under the mattress. Discover your favorite Taiwanese word and borrow it to name your next cat. Bring back some of their currency – coins and small bills only. Most of all, come home safely. Love you! Mom

  2. 2 Jessica Bradley

    Wow! What an amazing experience you have been having! Nate and I have really enjoyed reading about your grand adventure. Soak it in! Lots of love!


Leave a Reply

